WhatsApp rolling out ability to delete sent messages

0
214

World’s most popular Instant Messaging platform owned by Facebook, WhatsApp has recently rolled out a new feature with which you can delete sent messages from the app. Earlier we had reported the same thing that the giant is working testing the new feature to recall the sent messages which is finally official with the new update. 

WhatsApp has crazy number of fan following over the globe with over 1.2 Billion active number of users over the globe. This is the most awaited feature requested by millions of its regular users around the world. According to this new feature, people will be able to recall or delete sent messages.

Human makes mistakes and if you have sent messages by accident, you can now recall the messages or can delete them right away from the same chat. In order to access this new delete feature, you just need to hold on to the message that you want to delete or recall from the app.

Fortunately, Delete Message section has three more options. Delete for me, Cancel and Delete for everyone, these three options will be there for you. You can delete a particular message just for you only, or you can cancel this message or can delete it for everyone if you have accidentally sent messages within the group.

However, the recipient will be notified with your action. If you choose the option Delete for everyone, the message which you select will be deleted from recipient’s chat, however the recipient will see the message with you deleted this message or this message was deleted.

In the official F&Q post, the giant has explained everything in brief as the post has given all the answers to your queries and questions. If you have sent messages by mistake, you have to recognise it as soon as possible. You will only be allowed to delete the messages within seven minutes.

As per the official statement, “Messages you successfully delete for everyone will be replaced with “This message was deleted” in your recipients’ chats. Similarly, if you see “This message was deleted” in a chat, it means that the sender deleted their message for everyone. You can only delete messages for everyone for up to seven minutes after sending. Once seven minutes have passed, there is no way to delete messages for everyone.”

Just to add more information, to make use of this new feature, both you and the recipient must be using the latest version of WhatsApp. The new update of WhatsApp is officially rolled out and you can update this application from a respective App Store or Play Store for iOS and Android based smartphones. However, the update is not yet available for the entire globe, however it will be reached to your phone in a few days.

To check for the update manually, you just need to go to the Play Store and select Installed Apps and games option. Scroll down and select WhatsApp from there, you will see there whether the update is available for you or not. If you see Update option, tap on to that option and you will be able to update the existing WhatsApp version with the latest WhatsApp version to delete sent messages.

Apart from this, the giant has recently released a new live location sharing feature with the update. According to this new feature, users will be able to share live location to friends or in group for limited period of time. You can select the time period to follow the location in real time.