Uber hold your data even if you delete it

By | November 25, 2014


Uber have been in news last week because of the controversy of tracking the user locations without their knowledge and some critics call it as the gaping hole in nation’s privacy laws. Uber has given an explanation for this controversy, but still the Uber app downloads are limited. This controversy has brought about calls to delete this app. I have seen some were actually deleting the Uber service. This is apart from our discussion, some folks who deleted Uber can come back, but the interesting thing is that it’s basically impossible to delete Uber in the first place.

Do you think after deleting the app will delete all your data from their database, definitely not. This is clearly explained in their privacy policy, that Uber hold your data, ride history, locations you visited and all of it, as Uber sees fit and for as long as it likes. Here is what Uber has mentioned on its privacy policy.

[quote]We will retain your personal information and usage information (including geo-location) for as long as your account with services is active as needed to provide you services. Even after your account is terminated, we will retain your personal information and usage information (including geo-location, trip history, credit card information and transaction history) as needed to comply with our legal and regulatory obligations, resolve disputes, conclude any activities related to cancellation of an account (such as addressing chargebacks from your credit card companies), investigate or prevent fraud and other inappropriate activity, to enforce our agreements and for other business reason.[/quote]

According to the lawyer Lee Tien of Electronic Frontier foundation, data confinement turns companies like Uber into magnets for government snooping. Tien has said in an email,

We have urged the companies that they shouldn’t compulsorily hold customer data and instead should get rid of it or de-identify it safely after it is not needed no longer. It can create both the security and privacy problems.

Even though Uber’s privacy policy state that “your data may be aggregated and anonymized” after time, it offers no details about how or when that may take place.

Author: Peter Jacksonn

Peter, the most experienced in The Tech Bulletin team is a professional blogger and interested in reviewing the gadgets, giving solutions for technical queries. He covers the consumer electronics section along with latest apps and games.+Peter