Apple to bring Apple Pay to five more countries by 2016

By | October 28, 2015

Apple_PayApple Pay is one of the most popular contactless payment systems, but it becomes useless outside U.S. and U.K. Now, It looks like this scenario is going to change pretty soon, as Apple is planning to expand its payment system to five more countries. Out of five, two countries will get this service in 2015, where three will get it in 2016.

Apple CEO, Tim Cook has announced at the earning calls that the company has partnered with American Express to expand the Apple Pay service to five new international markets. Apple Pay will roll out in Australia and Canada this year, while it will roll out in Spain, Hong Kong and Singapore in 2016.

But there is one problem, Apple Pay service is going to be limited to American Express card holders in all these international markets, at least initially. Tim Cook didn’t say anything about support of other cards to Apple Pay payment service.

Apple Pay expansion to other mainstream market is a good thing, as at least some iPhone users in Australia, Canada, Spain, Hong Kong and Singapore will get opportunity to pay for their purchase through their smartphones. It looks like the deal with American Express is exclusive, as only American Express card holders can use Apple Pay in all these five countries.

Have something more to add to this story? Kindly let us know in the comments section.